International awards

International awards over the years
Awarding procedures

Political Science

The Mattei Dogan Foundation Prize for Excellence awarded by the International Political Science Association is given to a scientist of high international standing in recognition of his/her contribution to the advancement of the discipline. The prize is awarded at the IAPS World Congress of Political Science. Recipients Institutions Years Guillermo O’Donnell Kellogg Institute for International …

Political Science Read More »

European political sociology

Political sociology is the study of political life using sociological methods, combining theory and empiricism. It is a branch of sociology that studies political power, public action, public policy, elections and voting, and social movements. It includes the sociology of voting (or electoral sociology). Recipients Institutions Years Giovanni Sartori Universités de Florence et de Columbia …

European political sociology Read More »


This prize is awarded jointly with the International Sociological Association to a sociologist in recognition of his or her work and who enjoys a high international reputation in the sociological community. It is offered every four years on the occasion of the World Congresses of the International Sociological Association. Recipients Institutions Years Neil Smelser* Université …

Sociology Read More »


The prize is awarded to a scientist of high international standing for the contribution of his or her work to the interdisciplinary development of population studies and the importance of international comparisons. The prize is awarded to a mid-career researcher to honour work already accomplished and to encourage further research. Recipients Institutions Years Vladimir Shkolnikov …

Demographics Read More »