This prize is awarded jointly with the International Sociological Association to a sociologist in recognition of his or her work and who enjoys a high international reputation in the sociological community. It is offered every four years on the occasion of the World Congresses of the International Sociological Association.

Neil Smelser*Université de Californie à Berkeley2002
Alain TourraineEcole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales2006
Jeffrey AlexanderYale University2010
Prix attribué conjointement par la Fondation Mattei Dogan et l’Association Internationale de Sociologie (A.I.S. / I.S.A.)

*Neil Smelser is co-editor of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences