Call for nominations for the 2021 IUSSP-Mattei Dogan Foundation Award for Comparative Research in Demography

Deadline for Nominations: 15 September 2021

This award honours a scientist of high international renown for the contribution of his or her work to the development of studies of population that draw on perspectives of different disciplines and for the importance that this work has accorded to international comparisons. The award is given to a scholar in mid-career to honour work already completed but also to encourage active researchers to continue their research. The award will be presented during the 29th International Population Conference in Hyderabad, India and virtually.  The Awardee will be invited to give a Keynote address during the conference. Previous awardees were Anne Gauthier (2017) Gunnar Andersson (2013), Wolfgang Lutz (2009), and Vladimir Shkolnikov (2005). The Mattei Dogan Foundation offers a cash prize of $3,500 to the Awardee.   

Eligibility: All IUSSP members who are nominated following the procedure listed below are eligible except for current IUSSP Council members. No age limit exists but nominees should ideally be in mid-career. 

Nomination Procedure: Candidates must be nominated by IUSSP members; no self-nominations will be accepted.

Nomination Materials include the following. 
1) A nomination letter signed by at least six (6) IUSSP members of at least three (3) different nationalities. 
2) Two (2) letters of recommendation by prominent population scientists who did not sign the nomination letter. 
3) A curriculum vitae that includes a complete list of the nominee’s publications. 

Nominations should be sent by email to the IUSSP Secretariat by 15 September 2021 and should be addressed to Mary Ellen Zuppan, IUSSP Executive Director (

Nominations will be reviewed by the Selection Committee appointed by the IUSSP Council. The winner of the award will be announced in October 2021. 

For more information on the Mattei Dogan Foundation Award for Comparative Research in Demography, please visit our website at: